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ADMINISTRATION OF ACT NO, 2O2I-249,
CODIFIED AT ALA. CODE S$ l4-l-21-23, SS ls-22-29 & 32, and SS ls-22-52 & 54

GENERAL

This Alabama Department of Corrections (ADOC) Administrative Regulation (AR)
establishes responsibilities, policies and procedures applicable to the Department in the
administration of Act No.202l-249, codified asAla. Code $$ l4-l -21-23, I la. Code

$S I 5-22-29 & 32, Ala. Code $$15-22-52 & 54. This law is related to the payment of
per diem and health care costs for parolees and probationers charged with, or
sanctioned or revoked for, a parole or probation violation when a validated Claim is
submitted by an Alabama County or the County's designee.

II, POLICY

It is the policy of the ADOC to comply with the law as enacted and to rernit payment
in accordance with the Act, Alabama's Fiscal Policy and Procedures Manual, and the
ADOC's Accounting Manual.

Board: The Alabama Board ofPardons and Paroles.

@j4q: An application for payment or invoice submitted by a County
seeking payment for claimed per diem and/or healthcare costs incurred by
the County for housing or providing healthcare to a Parolee or Probationer
pursuant to the timeframes stipulated in this Administrative Regulation'

A.

B.

C Countv: A County ofthe State of Alabama, its Sheriff or Sheriff s office
employees, or Jail Administrator, County Administrator or other Designee of
the County authorized to submit a Claim on behalf of said County.
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III. DEFINITIONS AND ACRONYMS



Documentation: Documents, information, invoices, and other written
materials submitted in support of a Claim as defined in this Administrative
Regulation.

Parolee: An inmate paroled to supervision of the Alabama Board ofPardons
and Paroles by action of the Board and covered by the terms of Act No.
2021-249, Ala. Code $$15-22-29 &32,and this Administrative Regulation.

Probationer: An offender sentenced to probation by an Alabama Circuit
Court and covered by the terms ofAct No.202l-249, Ala. Code $$ 15-22-52
& 54, and this Administrative Regulation.

G Inmate Released to Mandatory Supervision: An offender released to
supervision by the terms of Ala. Code $15-22-26.2 to the supervision ofthe
Board of Pardons and Paroles.

A. The Department will timely review all Claim(s) and supporting
Documentation received from a County or the Board submitted to the
Department for reimbursement pursuant to the terms of the Act as codified at
Ala. Code $$ l4-l -21-23 and provide comment to the County for any
discrepancy or clarifi cation requests, including additional Documentation.

Documentation in support of a Claim for Per Diem should be directed to the
Accounting Division.

Documentation in support ofhealth care costs shall be directed to the Office
of Health Services.

Upon validation of the Claim, the ADOC will rernit payment in accordance
with Act No. 2021-249, codified at Ala. Code $$ l4-1-21-23, Alabama's
Fiscal Policies and Procedures Manual and ADOC's Accounting Manual and
this AR.
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IV. RESPONSIBILITIES

PROCEDURES

A. Claims for Per Diem Charges:

Counties seeking to submit a Claim for per diem charges should be directed

as follows for Claim submission:

1. ADOC's Accounting Division at:

A DOCPayables(a doc.alabama. sov

E.

B.

C.

D.



Upon receipt by the Department of a Claim and Documentation for
the Claim, including Documentation evidencing the dates a Parolee
or Probationer was housed in the County Jail, the Accounting
Division has the responsibility to process the Claim(s) for
payment. Documentation may include the following:

Completed Fugitive Warrant;

Form Authorizing Arrest ofParole Violator;

Action ofthe Board Subsequent to Parole Court form;

Judge's Order for Arrest on Probation Violation or
Probation OfEcer's Written Statement of Probation
Violation;

Judge's Order on the Probation Violation;

Criminal Sentencing Order for a Probationer on the
Current Violation;

Administrative Imposition of Intermediate Sanctions -
Parole;

Administrative Imposition of Intermediate Sanctions -
Probation;

Consent to Intermediate Sanction form;

Parole Court Action on Sanction or Judge's Order for
Sanction;

Authorizing Arrest of a Mandatory Release Violator
form; and

Any other Documentation evidencing the date or dates in
which a Parolee or Probationer was housed in the County
jail that permits the Department to calculate the amount
ofreimbursement for per diem charges.

Counties seeking to submit a Claim for health care costs should be directed

as follows for Claim submission:
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a.

b.

c.

d.

e.

f.
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B. Claims for Heath Care Costs:



ADOC's Health Services Accounting Division at:

ADOC.OHS@doc.alabama.sov

A Claim for health care costs must be supported by an iternized
medical claim form and proofofpayment, danonstrating the
validity ofthe Claim for health care costs corresponding to the
dates a Parolee or Probationer was housed in a County Jail
pursuant to Act No. 2021-249, codified as Ala. Code $$ 14- I -21-
23, Ala. Code $$ l5-22-29 & 32, Ala. Code $$15-22-52 & 54.

Documentation of the Claim with proof of payment may
also include the following:

(l) Health Insurance Claim Forms;

Pharmacy invoices;

Dental Invoices.

(2)

(3)

C. Payment Procedures:

The ADOC will remit separate payments for per diem and health care Claims
upon validation of submitted Claims as outlined above in accordance with
the following application ofthe statutes.

Parolees:

a. Parole Revocation:

(l) Pay Claim for a maximum of 20 business days

- starting on the calendar date of either the
charge for a parole violation (if already
incarcerated) or arrest on the charge of a parole
violation, whichever is later, and

the total number ofcalendar days from the day

after revocation through the date the inmate is
taken into ADOC custody or released at the

3

a.

(2)
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I

Upon receipt by the Department of a Claim and Documentation
evidencing any health care costs incurred by a Parolee or
Probationer for dates the Parolee or Probationer was housed in the
County Jail covered by Act No. 2021-249, the Office of Health
Services has the responsibility to process Claim(s) for payment.

2.

I



b

end of sentence
(b)(1) a. & b.)

(See Ala. Code $15-22-32

"Dunk" Sanction (Maximum total 45 days):

Pay Claim for a maximum of 45 calendar days starting
on the first (1't) day in the countyjail.

"Dip" Sanction (Short period of confinement):

(l) "Dip" Sanction with Waiver:

c.

Pay Claim for a maximum of thee (3)
consecutive days (limited to six (6) total days
per month) from the first day in the county jail
through the last day ofthe sanction in the
countyjail (2 or 3 total calendar days). (See
Ala. Code $15-22-32 (e) & (f).

(2) "Dip" Sanction Without Waiver,A{o Arrest:

Pay Claim for a maximum of three (3)
consecutive days (limited to six (6) total days
per month) from the first day in the county jail
through the last day of the sanction in the
countyjail (2 or 3 total calendar days). (See
Ala. Code E1s-22-32 (e) & (0).

(3) "Dip" Sanction with Arrest for Threat to Public
Safety/Flight Risk:

Pay Claim for a maximum of 20 business days
- starting the first ( 1't) day in the county jail for
the Dip. (See Ala. Code $15-22-32 (f) (i) a.).

d. No Action/Reinstatement:

Pay Claim for a maximum of 20 business days - starting
on the calendar date of the charge for a parole violation
(ifalready incarcerated) or arrest on the charge ofa
parole violation, whichever is later.

a
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2. Probation:

Probation Revocation:
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b

c

(1) Pay Claim for a maximum of 20 business days
- starting on the calendar date of either the
charge for a probation violation (if already
incarcerated) or arrest on the charge of a
probation violation, whichever is later, and

(2) pay for the total number of calendar days from
the day after revocation through the date the
inmate is taken into ADOC custody or released
at the end of sentence. (See Ala. Code $ I 5-22-
sa (e) (1) a., b., & c.).

"Dunk" Sanction (Maximum total 45 days):

Pay Claim for a maximum of 45 calendar days- starting
on the first (l't) day in the countyjail.

"Dip" Sanction (Short period ofconfinement):

( I ) "Dip" Sanction with Waiver:

Pay Claim for a maximum of three (3)

consecutive days (limited to six (6) total days
per month) {iom the first day in the county jail
tkough the iast day of the sanction in the
county jail (2 or 3 total calendar days). (See

Ala. Code $15-22-54 (0 a (g)).

(2) "Dip" Sanction Without Waiver,A,lo Arrest:

Pay Claim for a maximum of thee (3)
consecutive days (limited to six (6) total days

per month) fiom the first day in the county jail
through the last day of the sanction in the
county jail (2 or 3 total calendar days). (See

Ala. Code 91s-22-s4 (0 & (g)).

(3) "Dip" Sanction with Arrest for Threat to Public
Safety/Flight Risk:

Pay Claim for a maximum of 20 business days

- starting the first (1't) day in the county jail for
the Dip. (See Ala. Code $ l5-22-32 (f) (t ) a.).

No ActiorVReinstatement:d

6 of 7 AR I l4 - July 27, 2023



Pay Claim for a maximum of 20 business days - starting
on the calendar date of the charge for a probation
violation (if already incarcerated) or arrest on the charge
ofa probation violation, whichever is later.

vI. DISPOSITION

Any forms used will be disposed of and retained according to the Departmental
Records Disposition Authority (RDA).

VII. ANNEXES AND

There are no Forms prescribed in this Regulation.

VTII. SUPERSEDES

This a new Administrative Regulation and does not supersede any other regulation.

IX PERFORMANCE

Code ofAlabama 1975 as amended,Ala. Code $$14-1-21-23,A\a. Code $$15-22-29 &
32, Ala. Code $515-22-52 & 54.

Jo a Hamm
Commissioner
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